PDA

View Full Version : Novice here, advice please.

Julie
09-05-2014, 08:38 PM
I am trying to make an embroidered pin cushion and lost the instructions ages ago. I am a complete novice.

I am about to do some leaves in what I think is silk stitch, do I do the outline of the leaves in back stitch before or after I fill in with silk stitch ?

Many thanks !

Waterlily
09-05-2014, 10:18 PM
Hi Julie

I don't do any embroidery now but I'm pretty sure you should do the outside first and then fill it in. I'll have a look in one of my embroidery books tomorrow to see if I can find anything.

Waterlily
09-05-2014, 10:38 PM
Hi Julie

Me again lol. Just been thinking about it and wonder if you need to outline it? Can't find the book I'm looking for at the moment but will have a good look tomorrow.

Julie
10-05-2014, 02:11 AM
Thanks Pam, I do have a picture how the finished item is meant to look and there is an outline of stitches round the edge of the leaves. In my head I am thinking do you outline first so then you have a very snug line to sew up to, or do you do the long silk stitches first so you can sort of neaten up your edges with back stitch.

Will probably end up as a dogs dinner whatever I decide to do !

Little Jan
10-05-2014, 08:14 AM
:mysmilie_7:
I used to do embroidery yonkers ago
always did the outside first as per instructions
saying that they looked like I had just thrown the threads in the air and let them land on the fabric:blush:

Chalet School Fan
10-05-2014, 09:04 AM
If I remember correctly, I used to do an outline, but merged the silk stitch into the outline so that it had a defined edge, but not too harsh. Hope that makes sense!

RozMinis
10-05-2014, 06:41 PM