PDA

View Full Version : Colouring help please

Craftysusan
26-03-2017, 10:30 AM
Hi everyone. I am getting on really well with the Groovi system and need some advice please on colouring the parchment. I have watercolour pencils but was wondering whether ordinary waxy colouring pencils would be better. If so, what make do you recommend? I was looking at the Spectrum Noir Colourblend ones but they are over £20 so would like some advice before I plunge in. Many thanks.

pyjama princess
26-03-2017, 11:30 AM
I'm a complete newbie at Groovi/parchment. I'm due to go on a workshop in Port Talbot on 8th April and was told to bring blend-able coloured pencils. When I said I had Derwent watercolour pencils I was told the following - 'Water colour pencils can be used on parchment but they need an oil based pencil for a base'. So I've now bought Faber Castell Polychromos. I've heard a lot of people say they use Spectrum Noirs. Do you do FaceBook? There's a Groovi Worldwide page and the members there are really helpful.

Craftysusan
26-03-2017, 12:18 PM
Thanks Pyjama Princess. Unfortunately I don't do Facebook. Hope you enjoy your workshop. Any tips you get would be gratefully received.

RozMinis
26-03-2017, 06:21 PM
I have Lyra and also some from Ryman's (bought years ago) that are blendable. I use lavender oil or the Pergamano Zest-it as a blending medium. I also have a couple of sets of the Dorso crayons. I have used watercolour paint, also acrylic in the past, both to good effect. I must be perfectly honest though, I much prefer whitework. Mainly because to me that is what parching is all about.

If using watercolour, then I have found the crayons to be the best as not so much in the way of water is required. I also use a proper paint brush as those brushes with the water chamber can get a tad carried away, at least they do in my hands. Watercolour pens, such as the Aquamarker's are also good, but they can be a little on the bright side.

Roz

Craftysusan
26-03-2017, 09:49 PM