Thread: One round forward, two rounds back

Post Thanks / Like

Default One round forward, two rounds back

Having fairly recently taught myself to crochet (with the aid of loads of fabulous info on the internet) I decided to try making a crochet doily. I would love to create some table runners as I have seen some beautiful patterns on line, but as a novice I though I'd start with something smaller.
    Well I have now unpicked it so many times, that by now I could have made two of them!

Why is it that you only spot the mistakes once you have done a whole round or two?
    And there is no way of rectifying this other than unpicking up to the mistake and re doing.

As a knitter I have tried to ignore mistakes in the past, but then because I know they are there, my eye is constantly drawn to them, and it drives me nuts, so now I just unpick and deal with it as I go along

Very annoying though when you think that you have almost finished the item. I was literally abut 30 stitches from the end ... now another 3 rounds to re-do!

I think a hot beverage is called for!

Post Thanks / Like

That's so frustrating! At least unpicking crochet is easier (to me) than unpicking knitting. I know what you mean about only you knowing the mistake is there but it plays on your mind until you go back and re do it! Well done on persevering and hopefully you'll show us it when you finish.
    Thanks 2 Member(s) thanked for this post

http://pamelaspages.blogspot.com/

Post Thanks / Like

It is always the way, you are doing so well then see you have made a mistake
    And have to undo it all
    Hope 2nd time round it comes out perfect
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post

You don't have to be as mad as a box of frogs to be here but it helps:mysmilie_13:

Somewhere amid the mess in my office/craftroom!
    Post Thanks / Like